Initial Board of Directors Resource Productivity and Recovery Authority

Ms. Glenda Gies, Board Chair

Glenda is the principal of Glenda Gies & Associates Inc. and has been involved in designing and delivering waste diversion programs for more than thirty years. During the 1980s, Glenda launched curbside and depot collection of packaging and printed papers in the Region of Durham. As the first Executive Director of Waste Diversion Ontario, Glenda guided industry funding organizations in the development and implementation of diversion programs under the Waste Diversion Act, 2002.

Since 2011, Glenda has provided consulting services in the field of producer responsibility, including leading project teams to develop a producer responsibility program for residential packaging and printed paper for Multi-Material British Columbia and a shared responsibility stewardship program for residential packaging and printed paper for Multi-Material Stewardship Western.

Ms. Joyce Barretto, Board Member

Joyce has experience in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors with a strong background in corporate services leadership including procurement, risk management and finance. She had held the position of Assistant Deputy Minister for various agencies, and other executive roles in the Ontario Public Service.

Joyce has also been involved in a number of start-ups for not-for-profit corporations with a particular focus on board governance and providing effective support to the operation of board committees. She is currently a member of the Boards of Directors for the Parkinson Canada, Evergreen and the Ontario Brain Institute. Joyce has broad functional expertise spanning corporate governance, complex project management and environmental stewardship.

Mr. David Brezer, Board Member

David is an experienced director in Ontario's public service. He has held leadership positions in a number of ministries and is currently serving within Cabinet Office. David's responsibilities in Cabinet Office include economic, transportation and infrastructure policy. His previous public service responsibilities included policy and delivery in the areas of corporate law, consumer protection and public safety, and developing and launching new agencies and administrative authorities and their oversight.

Prior to joining the Ontario Public Service, David was a manager for the City of Toronto and the private sector. He has served on a variety of boards, including Waste Diversion Ontario, the Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes, the Governing Council of Professional Engineers Ontario, and Mississauga's Interfaith Food Bank.

Initial Board of Directors Resource Productivity and Recovery Authority

Ms. Nidhi Tandon, Board Member

With a background in development economics, Nidhi began her career as an economics journalist/reporter with the Zimbabwe International News Agency and the BBC Africa Service and subsequently worked for the Commonwealth Secretariat and the Overseas Development Institute in the UK.

In Canada, she established a consulting practice, Networked Intelligence for Development, which provides a range of technical assistance, advice and analysis to international development and financial institutions on sustainable and equitable development. At home in Toronto, Nidhi teaches at Humber and Seneca, is a board director with Oxfam and is an Ombudsman for Banking and Investment Services council member.

Mr. Tom Wright, Board Member

Tom is the elected Chair of the Interim Board of Directors of the Ontario Film Authority, the Bereavement Authority of Ontario and the Condominium Authority of Ontario. Tom became CEO at the Real Estate Council of Ontario (RECO) in 2002 until his retirement in September 2014. RECO was one of the first delegated administrative authorities established by what is now the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services. From 1991 to 1997, Tom was the Information and Privacy Commissioner for the Province of Ontario.

A graduate of Queen's Law School, Tom was called to the Ontario Bar in 1975 and practised law for 10 years prior to joining the Ontario Public Service in 1985.