GREENSPACE ALLIANCE OF CANADA'S CAPITAL

Greenspace Watch
Annual General Meeting
DRAFT MINUTES
June 3, 2024
Hintonburg Community Centre

Members present: Paul Johanis (chair), J.P. Unger, Iola Price, Anthony Keith, Erwin Dreessen, Donna DuBreuil, Kate MacNeil, David McNicoll, Terry McIntyre, Janice Seline, Angela Keller-Herzog

Guests: Gert Dreessen, Roland Dorsay, William Van Geest, Stephen Hazell

Regrets: Jason Kania, Nicole DesRoches

The meeting commenced at 7:00pm

Attendees were welcomed and a land acknowledgment was made.

Invited speaker Stephen Hazell gave a keynote address on the topic of the Global Biodiversity Framework (GBF) signed in Montreal in December 2022. It is the most important international agreement to halt and reverse biodiversity loss since the 1992 Convention on Biological Diversity. The federal government intends to release a draft national biodiversity strategy and introduce accountability legislation to measure progress to meet GBF targets. Stephen discussed what actions Canadian provinces and municipalities should be taking to help deliver on Canada's GBF obligations and how the Greenspace Alliance and other civil society groups can drive progress in collaboration with governments, Industry, and Indigenous communities.

Stephen Hazell is an Ottawa-based consultant with Ecovision and a retired environmental lawyer. His 2021 article in *The Narwhal* co-written with David Geselbracht inspired the federal commitment to commit to nature accountability legislation.

1. Establishment of quorum

Quorum was established.

2. Minutes of the May 29, 2023 AGM

The draft minutes of the 2023 AGM were circulated for approval.

Moved by Erwin, seconded by Kate. Carried.

3. Annual Report 2023-2024

Paul presented the highlights of the Annual Report (May 2023 – April 2024).

Report received.

4. Financial Report and Other Reports

Paul distributed the financial report for April 2023 to March 2024 and provided some highlights.

Report received.

5. Election of Directors and Chair

Continuing Board members: Paul Johanis (chair), Nicole DesRoches, Jason Kania, Juan Pedro Unger, Iola Price.

Nomination from the floor: Iola nominated Terry McIntyre, who accepted to serve as director.

The new board was presented to the assembled membership. All agreed.

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:00pm