Annual General Meeting – May 28 2018


Greenspace Watch

Annual General Meeting


May 28, 2018

Hintonburg Community Centre

1064 Wellington Street West

K1Y 2Y3


Members present: Paul Johanis (chair), Erwin Dreessen, Nicole DesRoches (vice-chair), David McNicoll, Jason Kania, Daniel Buckles, Debra Huron, Amy Steele, Ben Christy

Guests: Yasmine Belharakat

Regrets: J.P. Unger, Kate Punnett, Andrew Johnson


The meeting commenced at 7:10pm

  1. Establishment of quorum

Quorum was established.

  1. Minutes of the May 29, 2017 AGM

The draft minutes of the 2017 AGM were not circulated.

Action: Paul to circulate the draft minutes of the 2017 AGM to the new Board of Directors for approval.

  1. Annual Report 2017-18

Paul distributed a draft of the Annual Report (May 2017 – April 2018), stating it was now arranged under the same structure as our monthly meetings.

Daniel commented on the impressive range of activities undertaken by such a small volunteer organization. David suggested that the report should be circulated to national and other upper-tier organizations as a good description of what front line greenspace advocacy entails.

Erwin suggested that the detailed financial information not be included in the Annual Report as it was available through the Financial Report.

Subject to revisions, Erwin moved approval, David seconded, agreed.

Action: Paul to make revisions as per the discussions and circulate the revised draft to the new Board.

  1. Financial Report and Other Reports

Paul distributed the financial report for April 2017 to March 2018 and provided some highlights.

Erwin moved approval, seconded by Daniel. Agreed.

  1. Election of Directors and Chair

Continuing Board members: Paul Johanis, Nicole DesRoches, Jason Kania, Juan Pedro Unger.

Erwin moved, seconded by Daniel to accept Yasmine Belharakat as a new board member. Agreed.

Amy Steele decided to step down as board member. Paul presented her with a card and the book “How to Read Nature” as a thank you for all of the support she provided the GA over many years on the Board of Directors. Kate Punnett and Andrew Johnson’s terms have come to an end.

Erwin moved to elect Paul as Chair, seconded by Jason. All agreed.

  1. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 8:15pm