Minutes of the AGM of 18 October 2007

Greenspace Alliance of Canada’s Capital
Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 18 October 2007
Honeywell Room, City Hall

Members: Al Crosby, Cheryl Doran, Janice Dowling, Erwin Dreessen, Gert Dreessen, Barry George, Carol Gudz (Chair), Theresa Jobateh (Secretary), Amy Kempster, Arthur Mathewson, David McNicoll, Joseph Potvin, Janice Seline, Sol Shuster, Mikelis Svilans. Chris Szpak, Ruth Watson.

Guest Speaker: David McLaughlin

The meeting was called to order at 7:10 p.m.

1. Quorum:
It was determined that at least 1/10 of the total membership was present to establish a quorum as per Alliance by-laws.

2. Presentation by David McLaughlin:
David McLaughlin, President & CEO of the National Roundtable on the Environment and the Economy gave a presentation on the work of the NRTEE and on a report requested by the government about Medium- and long-term scenarios for GHG emissions reductions. An extended discussion followed. The speaker received a copy of Archibald Lampman’s “A Gift of the Sun / Le don du soleil” as a token of our appreciation.

3. Approval of the 2006 AGM Minutes:
Motion: Amy Kempster moved and Erwin Dreessen seconded to approve of the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 2006 after a few corrections. Carried.

4. Year End Report:
Carol Gudz tabled the Year End report of Alliance activities for the period November 2006 to October 2007.

Motion: Amy Kempster moved and Theresa Jobateh seconded to accept the Year End report. Carried.

5. Treasurer’s Report:
Amy Kempster presented the financial statements for the year ending August 31, 2007. She noted that there were a few small rounding differences from her own calculations.

Motion: Amy Kempster moved and Al Crosby seconded to accept with final adjustments by the reviewer. Carried.

6. Membership and Fundraising:
Janice Seline reported that the membership was higher than it had ever been. She recommends that the Alliance continue to participate in the annual Plant Sale fund-raisers, as they have been very successful.

7. Appointment of the Auditor / “Reviewer”:
Motion: Amy Kempster moved and Erwin Dreessen seconded to re-appoint John Corey to be the Reviewer for the upcoming year. Carried.

8. New Members
There were no new members.

9. Nominations and Elections:
a. Chair – Cheryl Doran
b. Returning Directors – Carol Gudz, Theresa Jobateh, Amy Kempster, Joseph Potvin, Janice Seline, Chris Szpak, George Wilson
c. New Directors – Barry George, Bill Royds, Sol Shuster were unanimously accepted.

10. Adjournment:
The meeting was adjourned at 9:07 p.m.